July 25, 2016

Lopez Band Named Best in 6A

After an arduous process of multiple competitions, the Lopez ECHS Symphonic Band claimed the title of 2016 State 6A Honor Band on Thursday, July 21 in San Antonio. The band is under the direction of George Trevino. This marks the second time that Trevino and Lopez ECHS has earned Honor Band status. In 2004, Lopez earned the State 4A Honor Band title. The Lopez Band will perform on February 8-11, 2017 in San Antonio at the Texas Music Educators Association Convention (TMEA) as the 6A Honor Band State Champs. Congratulations to the Lopez band members and George Trevino, Sam Hjort, Dr. Ramon Vasquez, Mike Garza, and Monica Vasquez on this well-deserved state recognition.

July 1, 2016

Lopez Band Advances To State

The Lopez ECHS Band advanced to the final round of State Honor Band competition on Friday, June 24 at the 2016 Texas Music Educators Association Area Honor Band Contest. This marks Lopez's 21st time in school history to advance to this level. The band is under the direction of George Trevino. The final round of state competition will take place on Thursday, July 21 in San Antonio at the Texas Bandmasters Association Convention. Brownsville ISD has a rich history of band excellence with three other state-designated honor bands. In 1965, Robert Vezzetti led the 4A Brownsville High School Band to a State Honor Band title. In 1987, Paul Flinchbaugh directed the Oliveira Middle School Band to 2C State Honor Band recognition and, in 2004, George Treviño and the Lopez Band won the 4A State Honor Band Championship. Congratulations to these fine Lopez band members and Mr. Treviño on this recent accomplishment.

Faulk Math Teacher Earns Presidential Award

Robert Rivera, a Faulk Middle School 6th grade math teacher, has been selected as a Texas finalist for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) program. This prestigious award recognizes Rivera’s outstanding contributions as a teacher of mathematics in Texas. The PAEMST are the highest honors bestowed by the United States government specifically for K-12 mathematics and science (including computer science) teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, the PAEMST program authorizes the President to bestow up to 108 awards each year. Awardees serve as models for their colleagues, inspirations to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of mathematics and science education. The National Science Foundation administers PAEMST on behalf of The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy. Congratulations to Robert Rivera on receiving this prestigious honor.